Located on Route 69 just south of town, the Harmonist Labyrinth was originally built around 1815. The maze was reconstructed between the years of 1939-41 on the site adjacent to the original Labyrinth, but not according to the original designer, which had a unicoursal or single path.
The hedges were planted according to a pattern established by the Harmony Society: a concentric circular design with only one path. A small stone building called a grotto is placed at the centre, an authentic restoration of The Harmonist grotto.
For the Harmonists, the labyrinth symbolized the difficult path of life to reach true harmony and perfection. It is open admission-free year round. Click here for the full fascinating history of the Harmonist Labyrinth. The late Mrs. Edmund Ball of Muncie provided the funds for its reconstruction, and is currently maintained by Historic New Harmony and The University of Southern Indiana.